Greene County - A place to grow. The way to live.
Your Local Government

Board of Commissioners

The Greene County Board of Commissioners have the job of setting the vision and policies for Greene County's Government. Commissioners are elected to staggered 4-year terms during even numbered years. Commissioners are elected on an at-large basis.

The Greene County Board of Commissioners has adopted an aggressive vision for the future of Greene County. County departments are expected to use the vision statement to assist in crafting work plans and budget priorities for their agencies.

Our Vision

Our vision of Greene County is a premier community in which to live, work, recreate and rear future generations. We will achieve our vision by adhering to the following important philosophies:

  • Quality Housing - We are a community with adequate, affordable and safe housing;
  • Infrastructure - Our community is a leader in infrastructure development, including water, sewer, transportation and communications;
  • Safe Communities - We are a community where all citizens feel safe in their homes and their neighborhoods;
  • Business Climate - We are a community that supports small business and industry;
  • Recreational Opportunities - We are a community with high-quality recreational and cultural opportunities available to all citizens;
  • Healthcare - We are a community that provides state of the art healthcare to all citizens.

Chairman Jerry Jones

424 Sheppard Ferry Rd, Snow Hill, NC 28580   252-747-2634

Vice-Chairman Brad Fields

2103 Titus Mewborn Rd, La Grange, NC  28551   252-560-3707 

Commissioner Bennie Heath

PO Box 683, Snow Hill, NC 28580   252-747-5297

Commissioner Susan Blizzard

559 Hwy 903 N, Snow Hill, NC 28580  252-747-3188

Commissioner James T. Shackleford, Jr.

230 Pine Street, Snow Hill, NC  28580   252-747-5609